April 20, 2024


It's time to think about Travel.

The Lewisham Awards Turn 20 – Hotel Magazine


Hospitality stars of past and current are established to come together on Monday 26th October 2022 at the Auckland Town Hall to celebrate 20 yrs of the Lewisham Awards.

Held per year, the Lewisham Awards honours excellence in Auckland’s hospitality local community.

Offered by the Lewisham Basis, the awards glow a spotlight on the establishments and individuals going above and over and above to generate exceptional hospitality encounters in Tamaki Makaurau Auckland.

“20 several years ago, there was not the variety of dining ordeals in our region that we now choose for granted.  The progress obtained lies at the feet of our courageous and visionary pioneers, many of whom are even now operating nowadays. The ongoing pursuit of excellence and commitment to the journey, will assure that the finest is yet to appear,” famous Foundation originator and Governance Group member Clive Weston.

Nominations will open on Tuesday 16 August for nineteen awards – from kitchen area to front of house, to suppliers, to institutions and their leaders – all will be celebrated for their contribution in creating a entire world-class hospitality scene in Tamaki Makaurau.

“After a tricky few of years for the Auckland marketplace, the awards existing the perfect option to toss off the shackles, get collectively with mates and rejoice our achievements,” explained Awards Committee Chair Vicky Roberts of WineFriend.

Named right after the late Richard Lewisham, who was himself a pioneer of the Auckland hospitality scene, The Lewisham Awards had been founded in 2002 with the major aim to foster excellence in the city’s hospitality local community. With this in head, the best in the organization is nominated and honoured by their peers when a year, adopted by an following bash to celebrate this success.

Previous recipients read through like the “Who’s who” of hospitality royalty. The initially receiver of the outstanding chef accolade was awarded to Simon Wright (then Chef /Patron of The French Café). Judith Tabron (Soul Bar and Bistro) was the very first Outstanding Hospitality Temperament. AUT Summer University Director Ted Bryant was the inaugural Lifetime Achiever, an award also bestowed on The White Lady in her 61st year in 2009.

This a lot expected celebration has celebrated hospitality icons and institutions aged, new and enduring for the past 20 years and is all established for the up coming twenty. To this conclude, new groups have been produced to accept the expansion of Auckland’s neighbourhoods.

Closing voting will start off on Monday 26 September and winners will be disclosed at the occasion on 23rd October.

Lewisham Award Categories 2022:

  • Outstanding Bartender
  • Outstanding Entrance of Dwelling
  • Remarkable Chef
  • Superb Rising Hospitality Talent
  • Excellent Income Rep/Manufacturer Ambassador
  • Outstanding Supplier
  • Remarkable Producer
  • Excellent Café
  • Remarkable Coffee
  • Outstanding Cocktail Knowledge
  • Outstanding Beer Knowledge
  • Superb Wine Expertise
  • Outstanding Nearby Establishment- North
  • Exceptional Nearby Establishment- South
  • Exceptional Neighborhood Institution- East
  • Excellent Community Institution- West
  • Remarkable Nearby Establishment- Central
  • Remarkable New Location
  • Outstanding Sustainability
  • Hospitality Hero

For extra facts concerning the awards remember to check out lewishamawards.co.nz


Resource connection